2019 · May · Who Am I? Series

Who Am I? Series

Who Am I? Series
14 June 2019
Installment 2

child-2730426_640There has been a great deal of progress made since my last post on this subject.  There is a lady helping me to try to sort this all out and between the two of us, we have pinpointed another potential set of 2nd great-grandparents. But, not only 2nd great-grands….GRANDS, too!

Through a few X-chromosome matches, we were able to determine the side of my paternal family that the originally discovered set of 2nd great-grands belongs to. They are on the bio father’s mother’s side. This determination was relatively easy given the inheritance pattern of the X-chromosome. Males get the X-chromosome *only* from their mother.

We found the merge point between two large clusters of DNA matches, which means that we have potentially found my bio paternal grandparents, BOTH sides of the father’s family.

We have only learned the identity of three of their children, three sons at that.  We have their names and birth year (for two of them), but nothing further.  No spouse names, locations, nothing.

I have no matches that descend from this particular couple.  All of the strongest matches (between 100cM and 200cM) are bio father’s father’s side matches.  I have no 1st cousin matches other than two that are my cousins through my mother’s siblings.  So, *if* these two people are my grandparents, it appears that I am their only descendant that has been tested on Ancestry.

I am not sure how to proceed from here, but I will continue to try to find more information on these three sons and any other children this couple might have had.

Thank you all for taking this journey with me.

Have a blessed weekend!

 

Notice

The Ancestry link is a referral link.  If you click it, I may financially benefit.  With it, you can save 15% off the $99 price of the AncestryDNA kit and, with your purchase, I can earn a $10 Amazon gift card. We both win!

 

Installment 1 can be read by clicking here.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Who Am I? Series

Leave a comment