2019 · May · Who Am I? Series

Who Am I?

Who Am I? Series
22 May 2019
Installment 1

child-2730426_640In early December 2018, through Ancestry.com, you may recall I learned that the man who I grew up knowing as “Daddy” was not my biological father. This was devastating to me.  Now, I am on the path to discover who I am biologically.  Daddy will always be my daddy, regardless of DNA, but I also want to know the identity of the man who fathered me.  Among other things, this blog will chronicle my journey of discovery.

So, here is the first installment in this series.

In most cases, a person has 16 second great-grandparents, eight from one’s father and eight from one’s mother.  My mother’s side is no question for me.  I’ve been tracing her family since about 1979, along with Daddy’s family.  I had no clue at the time that there was also a “father’s” tree that I should have been tracing.

I am now sure of the names of one set of 2nd great-grandparents through this father.  I won’t list the names here at this point because I don’t want to scare anyone off and then me never find the answer.  Through several 3rd cousin DNA matches, I have been able to determine this set of 2nd great-grandparents. Now, there are 3 more couples to discover. Then, of course, 2 sets of great-grands and then the grands and, ultimately, the father person himself.  I have some very good leads to follow on the other great-grandparent lines.

The only problem at this point in regards to putting them on my family tree is that I do not know exactly where they belong on the tree. I do not know if they are on the biological father’s father’s side or his mother’s side or where they belong from there.  The only things I am sure of are their names and the generation in which they belong.

I can’t wait for the big reveal!  This particular set of 2nd great-grands has a surname that holds very special meaning to me and is in line with one of my biggest passions.

Thank you all for taking this journey with me.  I just had to share it with someone outside of my household and you folks were among the first!

Have a blessed day. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?

    1. Thanks, Ellen. This could take years to fully uncover, but this is a start. I can’t begin to explain how excited I was to figure this part out. I am still praying to some day, hopefully soon, open up my DNA match lists to find one marked “Father” or even “half-sibling”. Then, of course, I have to figure out how to approach them. I don’t want to upset anybody. I just want answers.

      Thanks for being here with me through this. You’re a great encourager. 🙂

      Have a blessed weekend.

      Like

Leave a comment