2017 · Saturday Night Genealogy Fun

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – The Day Your Grandfather Was Born

saturday_night_genealogy_fun

Randy Seaver of Genea-Musings offers us the following challenge:

Your mission this week, should you decide to accept it, is to:

1) What day of the week was your Grandfather born (either one)? Tell us how you found out.

2) What has happened in recorded history on your Grandfather’s birth date (day and month
)? Tell us how you found out, and list five events.

3) What famous people have been born on your Grandfather’s birth date?  Tell us how you found out, and list five of them.

4) Put your responses in your own blog post, in a comment on this blog post, or in a status or comment on Facebook.

My response:

My maternal grandpa, William Howard Taft Spence, was born on 12 May 1910, a Thursday.

My paternal grandpa, Andrew James Gunter, was born on 27 October 1918, a Sunday.

I did a search to find a perpetual calendar in order to pin down their birth day.  I used this one: Infoplease.

I also did an Internet search (search.yahoo.com) for “what happened on 5/12/1910” and “what happened on 10/27/1918 and found three sources with which I was able to find both events and those sharing birth dates with my grandpas. Ordinarily, I would be using Swagbucks for my searches, but I have yet to figure out how to make it the default search engine on this computer.

Spence_William_Howard_Taft
William Howard Taft Spence 1910-1992

12 May

Things that happened on Grandpa Spence’s birth date:

1864 – Death of JEB Stuart, Confederate Army General

1932 – The remains of the Lindbergh baby were found.

1949 – Soviet Union lifts blockade of Berlin

1965 – Luna 5, Soviet spacecraft, crashes on the moon

2002 – Former US President Jimmy Carter arrives in Cuba

 

Those who shared Grandpa Spence’s birth date:

1812 – Edward Lear, English painter/poet

1820 – Florence Nightingale, English nurse

1910 – Gordon Jenkins, composer

1911 – Olive Faye, actress, USO Camp Shows

1925 – Yogi Berra, baseball player

Sources: Smriti “Simmi” D. Isaac, IMDB and Day in History

 

Gunter_Andrew_James
Andrew James Gunter 1918-1980

27 October

Things that happened on Papa Gunter’s birth date:

1787 – First of Federalist Papers published, USA

1838 – Extermination Order, Missouri, Mormons must leave the state or be executed

1904 – The IRT, first rapid transit subway, opened, New York City

1914 – The British battleship, HMS Audacious, is sunk

1986 – “Big Bang”, the deregulation of financial markets in Britain

 

Those who shared Papa Gunter’s birth date:

1858 – Theodore Roosevelt, 26th US President

1920 – Nanette Fabray, actress

1928 – Burt Bacharach, actor

1937 – George Carlin, actor

1948 – Steve Winwood, musician

Sources: Smriti “Simmi” D. Isaac, IMDB and Day in History

4 thoughts on “Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – The Day Your Grandfather Was Born

    1. Thank you. It is. While I want to participate every week, sometimes I just don’t get around to it and sometimes I have no clue how to answer the questions. So, I just hop in when I can.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Have a blessed day!

      Like

    1. Thank you! I thought that it was a fun one, too. It was doing a similar assignment that once helped me to discover a treasure trove of family photos that I had never seen. These were photos of my 2nd great-grandparents and some of their children. I was so excited that night that I couldn’t stop smiling for hours. 🙂
      Have a blessed night!

      Like

Leave a Reply

