2016 · AncestryDNA · DNA · Genealogy · Genetics

Who Do YOU Think You Are?

web1_suznotgonna_6677_29april11
Suz, 29 April 2011

What do you do when you find out that you are not fully who you thought you were?

What would you do, think, or feel if that happened to you?

Sometimes our body fluids have a way of telling us something different than what we grew up believing about ourselves.

For instance, I was raised as a white person and have done a pretty good job of passing, though some of my features have indicated that I was not fully white.

I knew that I had a Native American heritage, specifically Cherokee ancestry.

My spit says otherwise.

According to the AncestryDNA test, I am 0% Native American and 0% Caucasian. The test indicated that I am 97% European and 3% Middle Eastern.

So, I am mixed, but apparently not fully the mix that I thought I was, at least not according to this test. The test also indicates potential error when it comes to Native American ethnicity, as I understand it. I am still holding onto that Cherokee heritage until I can find absolute proof that I am not part Cherokee.

And, the Middle Eastern bit is an absolute, total surprise!

Are YOU really who you think you are?

Discover your ethnic origins with AncestryDNA. Use my link – you’ll save 10% and I’ll get $10.

Leave a Reply

